made me lol

We've got a rune marked in your mum's bedroom.

Moderators: Benn, Calix, senji

Mercury
[Trial, I-C]

made me lol

Post by Mercury »

Fatalist
POO ELEMENTAL

Post by Fatalist »

my mate was telling me recently how he was applying for a team leader position at his place and on his application he gave WoW guild leadership as an example of leadership skills/experience.

he didn't get the job.
Down with Scotland

Lady Redname
WAR ME HOMO

Post by Lady Redname »

if i was a manager looking for someone who was going to fit into a team and i saw 'wow player' they would get binned no matter what else their cv said.

Just because they think its something to be proud of.

Nixon
AFRIKA KORPS

Post by Nixon »

Can see both sides of the arguement to be honest. I don't see why it shouldn't be used as an example of leadership skills etc. If people can use sports teams, why not online games where you have to use similar skills/man mangement etc? Essentially its discrimination, especially in Slamers example.

That said I wouldn't put WoW on my CV.

Benn

Post by Benn »

Nixon wrote:its discrimination
lol

I'd question someone's judgement if they put WoW as an example of management and people skills.

Mercury
[Trial, I-C]

Post by Mercury »

its like iv made 100,000$~ playing poker but id never put it on my CV, too many people dont understand it. very similar to wow;

OMGZ GAMBLERZ
OMGZ MAD GAMER 24/7

Padaxus
Berkshire chainsaw massacre

Post by Padaxus »

easy being a leader behind a PC screen, in reality a lot of "leaders" in wow are probably too shy to say boo to a goose!
[img]http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m126/AlieBarnes/Korea1.jpg[/img]

Zim Zum
DAS PROBLEM

Post by Zim Zum »

I don't see how it can be discrimination. The only job a professed heavy interest in WoW sets you up for is Chinese gold farmer. And if you're not Chinese you can forget that too.
NEVER enter Felucca.
In time, Felucca will die AND evil will die with it

Sonez

Post by Sonez »